How to Perform Reset

Introduction

This article totally lists the different 2 ways to reset the PBX, through Reset Button or Reset on Web GUI page. Normally it’s rare to reset the device. But when there occur several kinds of technical issues, we may have to operate like that.

Scope of application: S-Series VoIP PBX, U-Series VoIP PBX, N-Series, and VoIP Gateway.

 

1. S-Series VoIP PBX

1.1 Regular Reset

The Regular Reset means to reset the data of the device through the press the physical button. Note that this operation will clean up all the data on the PBX device, that is the configuration will be set to factory default. Also, CDR stored on Flash will be erased.

  • The procedure of regular reset

1. Check the device is powered on, and has been running for more than 3 mins.
2. Keep pressing the reset button on the device panel for 5-7 seconds. (not more than 10 seconds)
3. Then release, it will start to perform the reset process.
4. Wait for the other 3 minutes or more until the process finished.

1.2 Backup System Mode

It’s a specific feature of S-Series VoIP PBX. When the system boot issue occurs, usually the PBX will enter the backup system automatically. In this mode, there will have a web page to ask the user to recover by a firmware upgrade. Basically, you could login to this page via the previous IP address you configured. If it doesn't work, try the default IP address 192.168.5.150. If you click on the option “Reset to Default”, all the data will be deleted.

  • The procedure of manaully enter backup system mode
  1. Press the reset button on the device panel before power on.
  2. Then power it on and keep pressing more than 5 seconds after power on.

And if the device has been installed with EX08 board, the port LED light will blink alternatively among RED, YELLOW and GREEN which means it has already entered the backup system mode.

  

1.3 Reset on Web GUI page

Users can login the PBX Web GUI page to click on the “Reset” button in the menu Maintenance> Reset. Note that with this method of reset, all the data of PBX will be cleanup, except for the backup data for configuration.

 

 

Recover via Backup File

Upload backup file or select the backup file which needs to be restored, then click restore icon to perform the restore directly. After rebooting, the restore file will take effect.

 

2. MyPBX U-Series VoIP PBX

2.1 Regular Reset

The Regular Reset means reset the data of device through press the physical button. Note that this operation will cleanup cleanup the /persistent folder of Asterisk which means the settings on the web will be erased. Only backup file will remain.

  • Procedure of of regular reset 

1. Check the device is powered on, and has been running for more than 3 mins.
2. Keep pressing the reset button on the device panel for 5-7 seconds. (not more than 10 seconds)
3. Then release, it will start to perform the reset process.
4. Wait for the other 3 minutes or more until the process finished.

2.2 Complete Reset

The is procedure is:

  1. Press the reset button on the device panel before power on.
  2. Then power it on and keep pressing more than 5 seconds after power on. 
  3. Wait for the other 3 minutes or more until the process finished.

Note that this operation will cleanup all the data of the PBX device, that is the configuration will be set to factory default.

2.3 Reset on Web GUI page

Users can login the PBX Web GUI page, click on the “Reset” button directly on the web page. Note that the data will be erased as the Regular Reset does. 

  • The procedure of reset on Web GUI page

Login to the Web GUI page, go to System > System Preferences > Reset and Reboot, click on the Reset to Factory Defaults” button to perform the reset.

Restore the backup configuration

Upload backup file or select the backup file which needs to be restored, then click restore icon to perform the restore directly. After rebooting, the restore file will take effect.

 

3. N-Series PBX and VoIP Gateway

The procedure is exactly the same as MyPBX U-Series VoIP PBX.

3.1 Regular Reset

The Regular Reset means reset the data of device through press the physical button. Note that this operation will cleanup cleanup the /persistent folder of Asterisk which means the settings on the web will be erased. Only backup file will remain.

  • Procedure of of regular reset 

1. Check the device is powered on, and has been running for more than 3 mins.
2. Keep pressing the reset button on the device panel for 5-7 seconds. (not more than 10 seconds)
3. Then release, it will start to perform the reset process.
4. Wait for the other 3 minutes or more until the process finished.

3.2 Complete Reset

  1. Press the reset button on the device panel before power on.
  2. Then power it on and keep pressing more than 5 seconds after power on. 
  3. Wait for the other 3 minutes or more until the process finished

Note that this operation will cleanup all the data of PBX device, that is the configuration will be set to factory default.

3.3 Reset on Web GUI page

Users can log in to the PBX Web GUI page, click on the “Reset” button directly on the web page. Note that the data will be erased as the Regular Reset does. 

  • The procedure of reset on Web GUI page

Login to the Web GUI page, go to System > System Preferences > Reset and Reboot, click on the Reset to Factory Defaults” button to perform the reset.

Restore the Backup Configuration

Upload the backup file or select the backup file which needs to be restored, then click the restore icon to perform the restore directly. After rebooting, the restore file will take effect.

Additionally for TA100/200, please refer to this guide: How to Reset for TA100/200?

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

1 Comments

  • 0
    Avatar

    Additionally,  FXS gateway could be reset by voice menu.

Please sign in to leave a comment.